retrorufflesandrust's Blog

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

February 19, 2013 Journal Entry –

on February 19, 2013

February 19, 2013 Journal Entry –

Well things are moving right along! Retro Ruffles And Rust has been open for just a few days shy of one month and as of this morning I’ve made 5 sales. Three of the five sales have occurred over the last three days. From everything I’ve read that seems to be a pretty good start for a brand new Etsy shop. 

I will tell you I have put in work though! Besides working on crafting my items which in itself is time consuming I am also on this laptop several hours a day trying to make an internet presence for myself. From Etsy’s Team sights to Twitter I am making contact and trying to get known in every aspect.

As I’ve told you before I live on a farm, I have nearly 25 animals to care for each day. No matter what I have going on they always come first, especially my horses. Horses are not like dogs and cats.You can’t just feed them each day and leave them to their own devises like a cat and they wont be content following you around as your companion like a dog would be. A well cared for horse requires at least one to two hours of exercise each day. On top of that they are smart and need stimulation, a bored horse means trouble!

Needless to say with my time dedicated to my animals and since I’ve started dedicating so much time to Etsy my house is falling apart! OK, not literally but it’s a mess! I am kind of a neat freak. When I was a kid my room was a mess like every other kid but I was weird I didn’t like to live in a mess so I would sleep out on the couch because I couldn’t stand to be in my messy room. I would clean my room and start sleeping in it again and then as it started to become a mess I would move back out to the couch. Well right now I have that feeling again but now my living room is a mess too so I’m contemplating sleeping out on the lawn. OK I’m joking plus it’s raining outside so I guess I need to put the computer down today and clean house.

As for my blog, for those of you following I’m sure you’ve noticed I’m a little all over the place still. One post will be talking about my kids, the next will be updating you on the progress of my Etsy shop and then the next will be a deep look into myself and a very telling historical family story. Well I like to write about all of those things and as you get to know me better you’ll see what a major roll each of them play in my life. I ask you to bear with me please? I am trying to figure out how to seamlessly write about all of those things. The purpose of me starting this blog was to share my experience starting Retro Ruffles and Rust and give you a peak into my home life with my family. I’ll get it figured out. 

 


Leave a comment